A transition of sorts


In music, we often talk about transitions -how things change from one state to another, from one environment to another, from one mood to another. Monday begins a transition of sorts for me, as I step down as Interim Director of the Center for Computation & Technology at LSU.  After 2 1/2 years of what was supposed to be a one year appointment, I find myself glad to return to my teaching and research, while wistful that I was not able to do more while director.

It has certainly been an amazing experience. I have learned a lot about myself, about administration, and about leadership. An enterprise such as the CCT has many challenges (especially so over these past two years), and it requires a team of dedicated people to keep it going.  I am most grateful to everyone who contributes to the success and achievements of the center.

Over the next couple of weeks, I plan to jot down some (hopefully) salient thoughts about academic administration, the relationship between science and arts research, tenure, and the future of computation at the university. I might even throw in some posts on my upcoming work. In any event, the purpose of these posts will be for my personal reflection and for a bit of posterity.

One of my colleagues suggested I write a book about the experience. Maybe these posts will be the start of a larger work. Who knows? All I do know is that I’ll have some time to let my brain think and be creative. And that is always a good thing.

Leave a Reply

